Oh I do like to be beside the… Part Deux (Or more glass-y inspiration)

Okaaaaay, so not quite the result that I hoped for, but I think some interesting lessons learnt:

1) Cut with more artistry!  🙂

2) Do not use the same fusing schedule you use for your cabs – it’ll benefit from a longer bubble soak to get rid of some of the bubbles.

3) Pick more exciting colours.

4) Think through design first before cutting!  🙂

5) The props of clear at the corners are fine, but make for an uneven edge, so need placing carefully or making sure they are not very thick and so won’t spread out so much.

6) If wanting a flat edge to slump the piece over a curve to make it a free-standing piece of “art”, would be a good idea to butt it up against a kiln brick (luckily I have one, so will try that next I think!).

And if anyone is interested, this is the firing schedule I use for my cabs (which in this instance, I would definitely recommend changing to stop all the bubbles!):

Bullseye glassy art

The first attempt!

-> Ramp: 260 degrees / Target temp: 649 degrees / Hold for: 30 minutes. [This is where I may add another 30 minutes hold to get rid of the bubbles first before trying to amend any other settings – unless anyone has any advice of course!]

-> Ramp: FULL / Target temp: 788 degrees / Hold for 30 minutes.

-> Ramp: FULL / Target temp: 516 degrees / Hold for: 1 hour.

-> Then set to zero to cool naturally.

So, an interesting experiment all in all and something which I have high hopes could be fun and ultimately I might be able to create something artistic – one day! Luckily the ordinary Bullseye transparent and clear glasses don’t cost the earth, so plenty of freedom to perfect the technique. 🙂

~ by thefiredevil on 12/07/2010.

Leave a comment