Oh I do like to be beside the… (some glass-y inspiration)

Glass art

Seaside glassy creatures.

Having been on holiday recently to Porthleven in Cornwall, I noticed a lovely shop selling works from local artists.  What caught my eye most of all were the cute hanging glassy sea creatures.  I just had to share them, as I know the colours and the shapes and the whole idea of making hanging creations out of glass just renewed my excitement in creating and fusing glass in the first place.

I have been sadly neglecting my kiln while I focus on getting my chainmaille finished and hallmarked, but tonight I just had to attempt to create something similar myself.  My first experiment is certainly going to give me an interesting morning when I excitedly open up the kiln and see what I’ve created.  I just hope it’s all gone according to plan.  If I’m feeling fairly happy with it I will post some pictures on here.  Or if it’s a disaster, I might post a ‘how NOT to…’ guide!

Incidentally, on a similar topic, I was on a thread on the Frit-Happens forum about how to avoid bubbles in sandwiched pieces, so have tried out a technique I mentioned there – placing my two coloured layers between a base layer of clear and propping the top layer of clear up at each corner with a couple of tiny squares of clear.  It’s going to be a bit of a ‘suck it and see’ kind of experiment, so will (for probably the first time!) leap out of bed excited on a Monday morning before work to inspect my creation.  Kind of feels like I’m Dr Frankenstein but let’s hope what comes to life is a bit more attractive!

And – if I’m super lucky – and I think it’s got potential I might investigate getting some frames or other ways of hanging the glassy pictures.  I’ve optimistically bought a slumping mould, so I can put a curve in the sheet of glass so I can create free-standing glassy art.  Watch this space to find out if I’m a happy or disappointed bunny tomorrow!  Fingers crossed….  🙂

~ by thefiredevil on 11/07/2010.

One Response to “Oh I do like to be beside the… (some glass-y inspiration)”

  1. I like the idea of glass pictures and hope that your first attempt in the kiln is good and look forward to seeing the pictures

Leave a comment